Dual citizenship is a situation in which individuals are allowed to be citizens of two or more countries, also known as second citizenship. Passport holders have legal obligations as well as rights in countries of which they are nationals.

There are many countries that do not recognize dual citizenship.These countries are not confined to certain continents but exist all over the world, such as: Andorra, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Belarus, Botswana, Bhutan, Oman, Malaysia and China. However, some States may provide exemptions or exceptions For example, in Azerbaijan, the President may offer dual citizenship to persons of particular interest to the Presidential Office.

In Congo, Djibouti, Cuba, Ethiopia, Haiti, India, Indonesia, Iran, Japan, Kuwait, Kazakhstan, Monaco, Singapore, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Nepal, Mozambique and Zimbabwe, one automatically loses citizenship when acquiring citizenship from another country, and in order for an individual to understand his or her eligibility for dual citizenship in a particular country, It is necessary to request information from the Embassy.

In countries that do not allow dual citizenship, a person must relinquish the nationality of one country to acquire the nationality of another country, but once a State has updated laws allowing dual nationality, anyone who has lost citizenship after acquiring the nationality of another country is allowed to apply for first nationality.

Countries that do not recognize dual citizenship are:
1- Andorra
2- Azerbaijan
3- Bahamas
4- Bahrain
5- Belarus
6- Botswana
7- Bhutan
8- China
9- Cuba
10- Congo
11- Djibouti
12- Ethiopia
13- Haiti
14- India
15- Indonesia
16- Iran
17- Japan
18- Kazakhstan
19- Kuwait
20- Kyrgyzstan
21- Laos
22- Macau
23- Malaysia
24- Marshall Islands
25- Micronesia
26- Monaco
27- Mongolia
28- Mozambique
29- Myanmar
30- Nepal
31- North Korea
32- Oman
33- Papua New Guinea
34- Qatar
35- San Marino
36- Saudi Arabia
37- Singapore
38- Slovakia
39- Solomon Islands
40- Swaziland
41- Tajikistan
42- Thailand
43- Tonga
44- Turkmenistan
45- Ukraine
46- Uzbekistan
47- United Arab Emirates
48- Venezuela
49- Vietnam
50- Yemen
51- Zimbabwe

This is a list of countries that do not recognize the law of second or dual nationality, and if any of their nationals has applied for second citizenship from other countries directly lose the first citizenship, so if you are considering applying for second citizenship it is necessary to check the laws of your country.

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!